Glade with pygtk

Session I:

Date : 19/ 09 / 10   Week : 12  People : 10

Time : 10.00 am to 11.30 pm

Location : Kailasanathar Temple

Topics Discussed : RAD(Rapid Application Development) ‘Glade’ and PYGTK

Attendees : Karthick, Manimaran, Balaji, Ilango, Yuvaraj, Santhakumar, Sathish, Vedha and Selvamani(myself).

Discussion :

I (Selvamani) discussed about Glade.

Glade is a GUI interface to design front end application and its specialty is it can be bound with any languages ( C, C++, Ruby , Python , Java) .

I showed a live demo for the widgets available in glade like toplevels, containers, controls and display and some miscellaneous widgets and its use in application.

And I explained about how to make front end design. I used python language as a backend. I taught that how to connect the Glade file with python through GTK(Gnome Tool Kit) called ‘PYGTK’. I created a sample Hello world program in gtkBuilder format and made connection using pygtk with it. Here you can view the file attached.

Glade design in gtkBuilder format and Pygtk

Booming GNU/Linux,

செல்வமணி. ச

Leave a Reply

